CFS: Ars Medica (creative writing, incl. non-fiction)

ARS MEDICA: A Journal of Medicine, the Arts and Humanities is a relatively new literary magazine looking for fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and artwork dealing with illness, the body, healing, and the culture of medicine. ARS MEDICA allows a place for dialogue, meaning making, and the representation of experiences of the body, health, wellness, and encounters with the medical system. Content includes narratives from patients and health care workers, medical history, fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and visual art. For submission/subscription info, see www.ars-medica.ca .

3 Responses

  1. I am attempting to find the website http://www.ars-medica.ca.
    It will not load. is it still active? I am interested in submitting.
    Barbara

  2. As a member of Georgia Writers, Inc., and recipient of “Poets & Writers” mag, I am responding to your ad in the Nov/Dec 2009 issue (page 182). I have a short story (1,862 words) about my grandfather’s experience at St. Joseph’s hospital in Atlanta, in the late summer of 1987. I was with him and kept copious notes of everything that happened to him and everything he said. In its original form, my story won first place in short fiction at the Clayton Arts Festival (Clayton College & State University) for 1988. It has not been published. My cousin who is a nurse suggested I send it to a medical magazine, but I didn’t know which one until I saw your ad. Could I please have guidelines for submission and an address if you’d like to see it? Thanks for your time. Yours, Jean Melilli

  3. Jean, this blog is merely a clearinghouse for calls for submissions from a variety of publishing venues. You will need to contact the journal’s editors via its Web site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

