Wellcome Trust Book Prize

The Wellcome Trust Book Prize offers £25 000 “to an outstanding work of fiction or non-fiction that has been published in a given 12-month period (1 October of one year and 30 September of the next).”

Here’s some basic information to the question, “Who is eligible for the prize?”: The Wellcome Trust Book Prize is the only book prize that could be awarded for titles as diverse as Ian McEwan’s ‘Saturday’ , Richard Dawkins’ ‘The Selfish Gene’ and Jean-Dominique Bauby’s ‘The Diving Bell and the Butterfly’  .

Submitted books, in English or English translation, must be published by a UK-based publisher during the prize year. Reissues, anthologies and self-published books are not eligible < http://www.wellcomebookprize.org/About-the-prize/Rules-and-entry/index.htm > for the prize, and authors must be living at the time of submission.

Any book of fiction and non-fiction will be considered, so long as medicine or biomedical science is central to its theme. This can include a collection of short stories by the same author. Children’s fiction may also be eligible, as long as the book is published by an adult imprint within the specified dates. The final decision as to whether or not a book is eligible for the prize rests with the judges.

Key Dates

  • 1 October 2009 – Prize open for submissions
  • 31 March 2010 – Closing date for submission forms
  • 30 June 2010 – Closing date for submission of final manuscripts
  • October 2010 – Shortlist announced
  • November 2010 – Winner announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s