Nurse Valinoti/Yale Journal for Humanities in Medicine

Recommended reading, Eileen Valinoti’s first-person narrative on the Yale Journal for Humanities in Medicine:

After graduating from nursing school in 1954, I went back home until a hospital apartment became available. My mother bragged about my achievement to all the neighbors (my nursing expertise; my brilliant grades; my job offers overflowing in the mailbox). Our working class neighbors began to seek my advice on every imaginable affliction—arriving unannounced after dinner to show me their strange rashes, moles, warts and boils. I was amazed by their blind faith. Overnight it seemed my nursing degree had given me magical powers. Anxious to please, I did my best, keeping my answers as vague as possible.

Continue reading here . . .

Leave a Reply

